Mayors Prayer Breakfast


This Breakfast provides a venue for the community to share a meal and develop stronger, more unified relationships. 


The Coliseum - 535 4th Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL

7:00 AM


7:30 - 9:00 AM 

Program & Keynote Speaker: Edie Lutnick


Each year at the YMCA Mayor's Prayer Breakfast the YMCA of Greater St. Petersburg has the distinct honor of presenting the Chester James Award. This award recognizes a community member that has exemplified the attributes of Reverend Chester James, a man who lived a life filled with compassion, integrity, and optimism.


Christopher R. Bell Alison Hirschauer Maria Pepe
Sue Brett Gail Holesha Martha Rittinger
Richard "Dick" Crippen David W. Jezek Cindy Rose
Michelle Curtis David McEachern Ashley Ryneska
Alexandra S. Feinberg Rachel Mentkow Barbara J. Yoder
Patricia Gauss David Neely Ashley Zarle
James S. Henderson Elizabeth O'Malley  


For any questions, contact the Development Department: 

727.895.9622 ext. 2240 or



Co-Founder & President of the Cantor Fitzgerald Relief Fund

On September 11th, 2001, 658 men and women at Cantor Fitzgerald lost their lives in One World Trade Center. Among them was Edie Lutnick's youngest brother Gary, whom she raised when their parents died at an early age. In the aftermath of the attacks, Edie felt empowered to help aid the firm's families who had lost loved ones on 9/11 and address the short and long term needs of victims of terrorism, natural disasters, and emergencies. 

Edie embodies the Y's definition of social responsibility in many ways. With seemingly everything lost, Cantor Fitzgerald triumphed from just a few hundred surviving employees to more than 3,000 today. Edie's leadership serves as an inspiration for uniting a community through dignity and hope for future growth.

Purchase Tickets Here:  



The YMCA Mayor’s Prayer Breakfast is a signature event for the St. Petersburg community. Initiated shortly after September 11, 2001, this event has continued to provide an opportunity for community members to gather and reflect on important issues, challenges and commonalities. 

Hosted annually, the YMCA Mayor’s Prayer Breakfast continues to boast impressive support from businesses, churches and individuals alike, and is well-known for its inspiring and innovative keynote speakers.

Event History

Keynote Speakers

2002 Lee Roy Selmon 2010 Edward Flom
2003 Jim Toohey 2011 Lorraine Yaslowitz
2004 Chuck Colson 2012 Bob & Pam Tebow
2005 Truett Cathy 2013 Gigi Graham
2006 Alistair Begg 2014 Rick Kriseman
2007 Chip Ingram  2015 Nicole C. Mullen 
2008 Mark Merrill  2016 Lucille O'Neal 
2009 Dr. Michael Youssef  2017 Edie Lutnick


Chester James Award Winners

2002 Rex Almquist 2010 David & Theresa McEachern
2003 Elder Clarence Welch 2011 J. Howard Hinesly
2004 Andrew H. Hines, Jr. 2012 David J. Fischer
2005 William R. Hough 2013 William G. Tapp
2006 Stan Brandimore 2014 Robert L. Ulrich
2007 Virginia B. Irving 2015 Deacon Lionel Roberts
2008 Emmanuel Stewart 2016 Robert P. Byelick
2009 Rick Baker